Sixteen Texas Cities Earn Scenic City Award

Scenic City CertificationThe Scenic City Certification Program is the first in the United States to incorporate a comprehensive set of model standards for design and development of public roadways and public spaces into one program.  Applicant cities present their existing standards for assessment and scoring against the model.  Cities with the highest evaluation scores are certified.

Anne Culver, executive director of the Scenic City Certification Program, said, “These sixteen cities  exemplify the idea that by implementing strong scenic standards citizens can enjoy a higher quality of life  and businesses find it easier to attract customers and employees. This is a win-win situation for these cities, their residents and for the promise of future quality of life and economic development.”

The Texas cities certified Scenic in 2011:

BudaCedar Hill Fairview Frisco Grapevine

Benbrook Buda Cedar Hill  Fairview  Frisco  Grapevine
 Heath  Horseshoe Bay  Hutto Mansfield  McAllen  North Richland Hills
 Pearland  Roanoke  Sealy  Trophy Club

All Texas cities may submit applications for the 2012 round of Scenic City evaluations beginning January 1, 2012. Applications are available online.  For more information on the Scenic City Certification Program  visit: